Universities

Mangosuthu University of Technology

41 programmes captured from MUT’s own official sources, across 3 faculties.

University of Technology Apply through the CAO mut.ac.za (opens the official page)

How MUT scores you

Every university does this differently.

Partly checked

MUT APS

RESOLVED 2026-10-03: a web-found MUT admissions page once claimed "best five subjects", but three of MUT's own official documents (its IT programme page, 2026 First-Year Prospectus, and Undergraduate Prospectus) all independently state the same rule - the best six subjects excluding Life Orientation, each scored on the standard 1-8 NSC level scale, with no Life Orientation bonus at all.

This score means nothing at another university – it can’t be compared with any other university’s.

What we couldn’t confirm
  • Best six rests on four official MUT documents agreeing against one older page that said best five; no single current page states the older claim was wrong.

Checked against: MUT Diploma in Information Technology (programme page) (opens the official page) · MUT First-Year Prospectus 2026 (user-supplied) (opens the official page) · MUT Undergraduate Prospectus (user-supplied) (opens the official page) · MUT "Point calculation matrix" (user-supplied screenshot) (opens the official page)

Dates

For the 2027 intake. 2028 dates aren’t published yet.

All MUT dates → · Do I need the NBT? →

Who to contact at MUT

General enquiries

From our research - not re-checked yet

Applications are through the CAO only.

Source: mut.ac.za (opens the official page) · checked 1 October 2026

Get help writing your question →

Programmes

41 programmes in 3 faculties. Pick a faculty to see what you can study there.

Engineering 17
No cut-off published

Diploma in Civil Engineering

Engineering · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)

RAW-CONFIRMED by a second MUT document (the user-supplied Undergraduate Prospectus) - same subject minimums, still no single published APS number for this diploma across either document.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Electrical Engineering

Engineering · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)

Includes 4 semesters of formal study plus 2 semesters of in-service training. RAW-CONFIRMED by a second MUT document (the user-supplied Undergraduate Prospectus) - same subject minimums, still no single published APS number across either document.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Mechanical Engineering

Engineering · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more) OR Technical Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more) OR Technical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Engineering Graphics & Design: level 4 (50% or more)

RAW-CONFIRMED by a second MUT document (the user-supplied Undergraduate Prospectus) - same subject minimums (that document additionally lists Engineering Graphics & Design as its own compulsory line), still no single published APS number across either document.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Chemical Engineering

Engineering · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more) OR Technical Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more) OR Technical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)

Raw-read from MUT’s own First-Year Prospectus 2026 (qualification tables, read 2026-10-04): English (First Additional Language) 4 and the Mathematics and Physical Science levels shown; 3 years; further departmental screening applies. Mathematics or Technical Mathematics 4, Physical Science or Technical Science 4. CAO code MN-M-DCE.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Surveying

Engineering · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)

Raw-read from MUT’s own First-Year Prospectus 2026 (qualification tables, read 2026-10-04): English (First Additional Language) 4 and the Mathematics and Physical Science levels shown; 3 years; further departmental screening applies. CAO code MN-M-DSV.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Building

Engineering · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)

Raw-read from MUT’s own First-Year Prospectus 2026 (qualification tables, read 2026-10-04): English (First Additional Language) 4 and the Mathematics and Physical Science levels shown; 3 years; further departmental screening applies. CAO code MN-M-DBU.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Civil Engineering (Extended Curriculum, 4 years)

Engineering · 4 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Engineering Faculty Prospectus: the 4-year Extended Curriculum Programme has the same subject minimums as the regular diploma (English 4 or 5, Mathematics 4, Physical Science 4) with a minimum total of 20 points.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Surveying (Extended Curriculum, 4 years)

Engineering · 4 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Engineering Faculty Prospectus: the 4-year Extended Curriculum Programme has the same subject minimums as the regular diploma (English 4 or 5, Mathematics 4, Physical Science 4) with a minimum total of 20 points.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Electrical Engineering (Extended Curriculum, 4 years)

Engineering · 4 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Engineering Faculty Prospectus: the 4-year Extended Curriculum Programme has the same subject minimums as the regular diploma (English 4 or 5, Mathematics 4, Physical Science 4) with a minimum total of 20 points.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Mechanical Engineering (Extended Curriculum, 4 years)

Engineering · 4 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Engineering Faculty Prospectus: the 4-year Extended Curriculum Programme has the same subject minimums as the regular diploma (English 4 or 5, Mathematics 4, Physical Science 4) with a minimum total of 20 points.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Chemical Engineering Access Course (bridging)

Engineering

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 3 (40% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 First-Year Prospectus: a bridging access course for applicants who do not meet the diploma entrance requirements (Mathematics 3, Physical Science 3, English Home Language 4 or First Additional Language 3). It is not itself a diploma.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Civil Engineering Access Course (bridging)

Engineering

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 3 (40% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 First-Year Prospectus: a bridging access course for applicants who do not meet the diploma entrance requirements (Mathematics 3, Physical Science 3, English Home Language 4 or First Additional Language 3). It is not itself a diploma.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Electrical Engineering Access Course (bridging)

Engineering

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 3 (40% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 First-Year Prospectus: a bridging access course for applicants who do not meet the diploma entrance requirements (Mathematics 3, Physical Science 3, English Home Language 4 or First Additional Language 3). It is not itself a diploma.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Mechanical Engineering Access Course (bridging)

Engineering

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 3 (40% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 First-Year Prospectus: a bridging access course for applicants who do not meet the diploma entrance requirements (Mathematics 3, Physical Science 3, English Home Language 4 or First Additional Language 3). It is not itself a diploma.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Building Access Course (bridging)

Engineering

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 3 (40% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 First-Year Prospectus: a bridging access course for applicants who do not meet the diploma entrance requirements (Mathematics 3, Physical Science 3, English Home Language 4 or First Additional Language 3). It is not itself a diploma.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Surveying Access Course (bridging)

Engineering

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more) OR English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 3 (40% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 First-Year Prospectus: a bridging access course for applicants who do not meet the diploma entrance requirements (Mathematics 3, Physical Science 3, English Home Language 4 or First Additional Language 3). It is not itself a diploma.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Chemical Engineering

Engineering · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – An appropriate NQF level 6 diploma, or a Bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering or a related field; preference goes to higher academic achievement. Intake is in the first semester only.

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Engineering Faculty Prospectus (entry requirements, page 17).

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Applied and Health Sciences 12
Sources disagree

Diploma in Information Technology

Applied and Health Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 24

  • English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 5 (60% or more)

CONFLICT: the user-supplied MUT First-Year Prospectus 2026 states "a minimum of 25 points in the best six subjects" for this same diploma, one point above the 24 shown here from the Applied and Health Sciences Handbook - both official, both labelled 2026, disagreeing on the exact number though agreeing on the six-subject method (now resolved for MUT generally - see MUT_APS). We show the lower, already-published figure rather than silently raising it. The APS formula conflict that used to apply to this row is otherwise resolved: best six subjects excluding Life Orientation.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Bachelor of Health Sciences: Medical Laboratory Science

Applied and Health Sciences · 4 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Interview and placement test – Applicants must undergo an interview and placement testing.

Medical laboratory (diagnostic) science specifically, not general biology research. RAW-CONFIRMED by a second MUT document (the user-supplied First-Year Prospectus 2026) - same subjects and 4-year duration, but still no single APS number stated in either document (a "24" appeared near these subjects in the original source table but its exact meaning was ambiguous, so it is still not published as the APS). Duration includes 6 months of work-integrated learning in year 3 and 12 months of clinical practice in year 4.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Agriculture in Crop Production

Applied and Health Sciences · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 if it is your Home Language, level 4 if it is your First Additional Language
  • Mathematics: level 5 (60% or more) OR Physical Sciences: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Agricultural Sciences: level 4 (50% or more) OR Life Sciences: level 3 (40% or more)

Raw-read from MUT’s own First-Year Prospectus 2026 (qualification tables, read 2026-10-04): English 4; Mathematics 5 or Physical Sciences 3; Agricultural Sciences 4 or Life Sciences 3 (read as alternative pairs - the table lists the subjects in one column). The earlier row had Agricultural/Life Sciences both at level 4 and Mathematical Literacy as an option - superseded. Includes one semester of work-integrated learning. CAO code MN-M-DCP.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Analytical Chemistry

Applied and Health Sciences · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • English: level 4 (50% or more)

RAW-CONFIRMED by a second MUT document (the user-supplied First-Year Prospectus 2026) - same subject minimums and 3-year duration, still no single published APS number across either document.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Partly verified

Diploma in Nature Conservation

Applied and Health Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 28

  • English: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Agricultural Sciences: level 5 (60% or more) OR Life Sciences: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Physical Sciences – Physical Sciences is an added advantage.

Subject levels re-read 2026-10-04 from the MUT First-Year Prospectus 2026 (English 5, Agricultural Science or Life Science 5, Mathematics 3; Physical Sciences an added advantage; CAO code MN-M-DCN) - the earlier row had Life Sciences only and no Mathematics. The APS of 28 comes from the earlier handbook and is not restated in the First-Year Prospectus, so it is still unconfirmed. Read directly (pdftotext) from MUT’s own Applied and Health Sciences Handbook. Selection also weighs field/conservation experience and a CV alongside academics. Includes one year of work-integrated learning with a recognised conservation body. Source PDF labelled "2026", not yet confirmed for 2027.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Bachelor of Applied Science in Nature Conservation

Applied and Health Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 32

  • Life Sciences: level 5 (60% or more)
  • English: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)

CORRECTED 2026-10-03: the user-supplied First-Year Prospectus 2026 gives Mathematics' actual level (4) in place of the earlier vague "a pass mark is required" - the degree-level sibling to the Diploma in Nature Conservation above.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Sources disagreeNo cut-off published

BSc Environmental Health

Applied and Health Sciences · 4 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • English: level 4 (50% or more)

CONFLICT: the user-supplied First-Year Prospectus 2026 states this degree is 3 years, not 4 as shown here from the Applied and Health Sciences Handbook - both official, both labelled 2026, agreeing exactly on every subject requirement but disagreeing on duration. Shown as 4 years (the original, more detailed source) pending resolution. Still no single APS number published in either document. Graduates must register with the HPCSA.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

No cut-off published

Diploma in Community Extension

Applied and Health Sciences · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Subject combination – Agricultural Science, Consumer Studies, Life Sciences, Geography, Economics or Business Studies at level 4 in the combinations the handbook lists.

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Applied and Health Sciences Handbook (page 34, specific admission requirements). A Higher Certificate or Advanced Certificate in a cognate field is also accepted.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Agriculture in Crop Production

Applied and Health Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – An NQF level 6 qualification with Crop Production and Agricultural Extension or Agricultural Economics as majors, with a 60% aggregate in those majors (experience or recognition of prior learning otherwise).

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Applied and Health Sciences Handbook.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Agriculture in Animal Production

Applied and Health Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – An NQF level 6 qualification with Animal Production and Agricultural Extension or Agricultural Economics as majors, with a 60% aggregate in those majors (experience or recognition of prior learning otherwise).

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Applied and Health Sciences Handbook.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Agricultural Extension and Community Development

Applied and Health Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – A diploma qualification passed with an average of at least 60% (the general entrance rule for Advanced Diplomas at NQF level 7).

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Applied and Health Sciences Handbook.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Nature Conservation

Applied and Health Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – A Diploma or National Diploma in Nature Conservation (or an equivalent 3-year qualification in the same or a similar field) with a 60% aggregate in final-level major subjects.

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Applied and Health Sciences Handbook (7.2.1).

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Management Sciences 12

Diploma in Accounting

Management Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 25

  • English: level 4 if it is your Home Language, level 5 if it is your First Additional Language
  • Accounting: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 6 (70% or more)

Raw-read from MUT’s own First-Year Prospectus 2026 (qualification tables, read 2026-10-04): English Home Language 4 or First Additional Language 5, Accounting 4, Mathematics 3 or Mathematical Literacy 6; 3 years, or 4 years on the extended route. The earlier row (from the 2026 Management Sciences Prospectus) showed English 4 and Mathematical Literacy 5; this newer document is used. 25 points is MUT’s general minimum APS. CAO code MN-M-DAT.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Diploma in Marketing

Management Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 25

  • English: level 3 if it is your Home Language, level 4 if it is your First Additional Language
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 4 (50% or more) OR Accounting: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Four more subjects – Four further subjects at level 3 or better.

RAW-CONFIRMED by a second MUT document (the user-supplied First-Year Prospectus 2026) - same APS and subject figures, which also notes an NCV level 4 alternative route (English 60%, Mathematics 40% or Mathematical Literacy 50%, four other subjects at 50%+).

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Diploma in Public Management

Management Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 25

  • English: level 3 if it is your Home Language, level 4 if it is your First Additional Language

RAW-CONFIRMED by a second MUT document (the user-supplied First-Year Prospectus 2026: "Total minimum points: 25, excl. Life Orientation") - the full subject breakdown beyond English and the 25-point total is still not stated in either document. All admissions go through a selection process beyond just meeting the minimum; students who averaged 60%+ at N6 level (Public Admin/Public Management) are also considered.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Diploma in Human Resources Management

Management Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 25

  • English: level 3 if it is your Home Language, level 4 if it is your First Additional Language
  • Mathematical Literacy: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Accounting: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Four more subjects – Four further subjects at level 3 or better.

RAW-CONFIRMED by a second MUT document (the user-supplied First-Year Prospectus 2026) - same APS and subject figures.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Diploma in Local Government Finance

Management Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 25

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Accounting: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 6 (70% or more)

Raw-read from MUT’s own First-Year Prospectus 2026 (qualification tables, read 2026-10-04): English 4, Accounting 4, Mathematics 3 or Mathematical Literacy 6; 3 years. The earlier row inferred Mathematical Literacy 5 from a shared table - superseded. CAO code MN-M-DGF.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Diploma in Cost and Management Accounting

Management Sciences

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Accounting: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 6 (70% or more)

Raw-read from MUT’s own First-Year Prospectus 2026 (qualification tables, read 2026-10-04). English 4, Accounting 4, Mathematics 3 or Mathematical Literacy 6. Duration not stated in the table. CAO code MN-M-DMN.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Diploma in Finance and Accounting (Public)

Management Sciences · 4 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 if it is your Home Language, level 5 if it is your First Additional Language
  • Accounting: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 6 (70% or more)

Raw-read from MUT’s own First-Year Prospectus 2026 (qualification tables, read 2026-10-04). English Home Language 4 or First Additional Language 5, Accounting 4, Mathematics 3 or Mathematical Literacy 6; 4 years. CAO code MN-M-DFY.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Diploma in Office Management and Technology

Management Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 25

  • English: level 3 if it is your Home Language, level 4 if it is your First Additional Language
  • Six more subjects – Any other six accredited subjects, for a total of at least 25 points. A pass in typing or Computer Studies is an added advantage.

Raw-read from MUT’s own First-Year Prospectus 2026 (qualification tables, read 2026-10-04). English Home Language 3 or First Additional Language 4, and a total of at least 25 points. CAO code MN-MDOT.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Human Resource Management

Management Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – An appropriate Diploma in Human Resource Management (360 credits, NQF 6) with an average of 60% in major subjects; less than 60% may be considered with two years’ HR experience.

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Management Sciences Prospectus.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Public Management

Management Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – A National Diploma or Diploma in Public Management (or equivalent) with an average of 60%; less than 60% may be considered with three years’ public-sector experience.

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Management Sciences Prospectus.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Marketing

Management Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – A Diploma or National Diploma in Marketing passed with an aggregate of 60% or above; less than 60% may be considered with two years’ marketing experience.

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Management Sciences Prospectus.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Office Management and Technology

Management Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – A Diploma in Office Management and Technology (or equivalent) with an aggregate of 60% or above; less than 60% may be considered with two years’ office-management experience.

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Management Sciences Prospectus.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

What we couldn’t verify at MUT

We publish our gaps instead of hiding them.

partially verified

5 programmes across Engineering, IT, Health Sciences, Accounting

CONFLICT: MUT’s general admissions page says APS uses your best five subjects; its IT programme page says best six excluding Life Orientation - both are shown, flagged, neither picked. Figures are raw-extracted from official MUT PDFs, which are labelled "2026" and not yet confirmed as the 2027-intake versions. No APS number was stated for the Civil or Electrical Engineering diploma pages we read, so those show subject minimums only. Mechanical Engineering’s subject table was not reached before stopping - full gap. The Medical Laboratory Science APS figure was ambiguous in extraction and is deliberately not published. No official 2027 closing date found anywhere on mut.ac.za (only unverified third-party claims).

partially verified

APS formula conflict resolved (MUT_APS now computable), 2 NEW conflicts surfaced, 7 rows raw-confirmed by a second document

RESOLVED 2026-10-03: the user supplied two more official MUT documents (First-Year Prospectus 2026, Undergraduate Prospectus), both independently stating "best six subjects excluding Life Orientation" - a 3-against-1 majority against the web-found "general admissions page" that had claimed best five. MUT_APS is now implemented in src/scoring.js (same shape as UP/UJ's formula: sum of NSC levels for the best six subjects, no Life Orientation bonus) and no longer counted among the non-computable systems (scripts/test-scoring.mjs's pinned count dropped 7 to 6). Cross-checking the new documents against every existing MUT row raw-confirmed 7 of them exactly (Civil/Electrical/Mechanical Engineering diplomas, Analytical Chemistry, Marketing, Public Management, HR Management) and gave Nature Conservation (Bachelor)'s Mathematics its first real level (4, replacing a vague "pass mark required"). Two NEW conflicts surfaced, both shown rather than picked: the IT diploma's APS total (24 in the Applied and Health Sciences Handbook vs 25 in the First-Year Prospectus) and BSc Environmental Health's duration (4 years vs 3 years) - both official, both labelled 2026, agreeing on everything else. Diploma in Agriculture (Crop Production/Animal Production) and Diploma in Nature Conservation's subject-level breakdowns remain as originally captured - the new documents' own tables for these two were ambiguous in a different, conflicting way and were not used to "fix" what might already be right.

partially verified

MUT: First-Year Prospectus 2026 qualification tables read - 6 new rows, 4 existing rows corrected

The MUT First-Year Prospectus 2026 states subject levels per qualification. Corrected from the older faculty handbooks: Diploma in Accounting and Local Government Finance need Mathematical Literacy 6 (not 5) and Accounting takes English Home Language 4 / First Additional 5; Crop Production reads as Mathematics 5 or Physical Sciences 3, and Agricultural Sciences 4 or Life Sciences 3; Nature Conservation takes English 5, Agricultural or Life Sciences 5, Mathematics 3 (its APS 28 still comes only from the handbook). Added Chemical Engineering, Surveying, Building, Cost and Management Accounting, Finance and Accounting (Public) and Office Management. The 2019/20 Undergraduate Prospectus in the folder is too old to be a source. No closing dates are published in these documents.

Do your marks get you in here?

Enter your subjects once and we’ll check them against every MUT degree above.

What do I qualify for?